OxfordCroquet Logo

Dr Ian Plummer

Donation Button

http://www.oxfordcroquet.com/ref/questions/index.asp
Technical
Questions for the Laws Course

Please use these questions, when preparing for a Laws Course, by working out your answers before attending the course, and make a note of the relevant laws.

  1. Advanced Play. G.W. has a lift under Law 36. He lifts Blue, places it in corner 2, shoots at Red near the peg, and hits. K.S. then queries the stroke; has she any redress?
  2. Red and Yellow both rover balls. P.N., taking croquet with Red, tries to peg out Yellow with a firm stop shot. Yellow misses the peg and goes off; Red follows on and hits the peg after Yellow has gone off. Is Red pegged out?
  3. Red roquets Black. In the croquet stroke Black goes off and Red ends up within the yard-line area with a useful rush on Blue. After replacing Black on the yard-line the striker indicates that he will take a bisque. May he play Red from where it lies?
  4. Two scratch players, A and B, are drawn to play each other in the X handicap, Event 4, and also in the Open Singles (Advanced Play), Event 1. The order of play reads A v B, Event 1, but just before they play the Manager tells A that he wants the match to be Event 4. B, unaware of this, assumes the game is Advanced Play.

    Early in the game B goes to 4 - back with Red. A plays Blue from where it lies and misses. B then starts a break with Yellow and is in play at hoop 5 when the Manager notices Red's clip on 4 - back and realises what has happened. He asks you to adjudicate. What is your decision?
  5. Advanced Play Doubles. A, the player of Black, is entitled to a lift under Law 36. After a lengthy discussion with his partner, he trundles Blue from its position near the peg to A- baulk and takes the short lift shot at Red which is in corner 4. 'Wrong ball' is claimed and admitted. Where should Blue be replaced?
  6. Handicap Doubles. B.P. triple peels and pegs out an opponent. He subsequently completes a second peel for his partner's ball. The opponent claims that as this is B. P's fifth peel the point is not scored. Is this correct?
  7. When called for a wiring decision, what are the facts you must ascertain?
  8. Red plays a hard cut rush on Black and comes to rest some ten yards away, close to Blue. The striker, in walking to collect red, kicks Blue. Is this a fault?
  9. Red and Black are both rovers, and Red is pegging out Black in a croquet stroke. Black rebounds off the peg and hits Red. Both players agree that Red was only prevented from hitting the peg by Black's impact.
    1. Is Red pegged out?
    2. If the striker's mallet touches Red again because its course was affected by Black's impact, has a fault been committed?
  10. How are the balls replaced when
    1. a fault has been committed (general case)
    2. a fault has been committed in a croquet stroke and the striker's ball or the croqueted ball goes off
    3. the striker plays with the wrong ball when taking croquet
    4. in the fourth turn of the game the striker plays Yellow, which he had correctly played in the second turn, rather than Red?
  11. In approaching hoop 5 off Blue, Red obtains a good position for this hoop and Blue goes some 5 inches beyond the hoop on its non-playing side. Red then plays a hoop stroke; it passes through the hoop, hits Blue, and this impact causes it to run back into the jaws of the hoop. Is the hoop point scored and the roquet made?
  12. Handicap Singles. Yellow's clip is on hoop 2 and Red's on hoop 3. Yellow, at the start of his turn, shoots at Red in corner 2 and misses. He then takes a bisque but immediately takes croquet with Red. In his subsequent play with Red he 'makes' hoops 2 and 3, using two more bisques, and lays up near hoop 4.
    1. What happens if the error is discovered at this juncture?
    2. What happens if the error is discovered at the start of Red and Yellow's next turn?
  13. Red fails to run a hoop and bounces off the wire near to Blue. The striker, thinking that he has one more stroke, hits Red off into the corner. His opponent says 'You have taken a bisque, you know'.
    1. Is this correct?
    2. Could a Spectator Referee intervene?
  14. Red takes croquet from Black, does a bad shot, and is then  impeded by Black from roqueting Blue. The striker decides to play a scatter shot on Black. All three balls are close together. Why should this shot be watched?
  15. Handicap Doubles. Red and Blue are both rovers. Red attempts to peg out Blue in a croquet stroke; Blue misses the peg but Red rolls onto the peg. Is Red pegged out?
  16. Level Singles. Red, a rover, is very close to the peg. The striker hits Red onto the peg; it rebounds and hits his mallet. Is this a fault?
  17. Red roquets Yellow and having separated Blue and Black returns to Yellow in a take off. In the continuation stroke Red hits fellow, and is about to 'take croquet' when the opponent forestalls. What irregularity has been committed and where should the balls be replaced?
  18. Timed Game. Time is called after the striker hits Red but before it comes to rest. Has the striker's turn ended if
    1. Red sticks in the hoop he was attempting?
    2. Red roquets Blue which he was entitled to roquet?
  19. Timed Game. Time is called before Red approaches its hoop in order. Red then sticks in the hoop and says that he is taking a bisque because the scores are level. Is this correct?
  20. Timed Game (handicap). After the extension period has ended the scores are level, the clip positions being as follows. Red: peg; Yellow: 4-back; Blue: penult; Black: rover. Red is played onto the peg to score the winning point. You are the time-keeper; can you take any immediate action?
  21. Red, attempting a hoop, rebounds from the wire. In order to avoid Red hitting his foot the striker topples back and treads on Blue. Is this a fault?
  22. Red plays a hard rush on Yellow, which is near a hoop. Red rebounds off a wire and touches the striker's mallet. Is this a fault?
  23. Black is touching a wire. In attempting a long shot with Red, which is close to the hoop, the striker's mallet follows through and hits the wire, causing Black to shake.
    1. Has a fault been committed?
    2. Is the striker now responsible for Black's position even if it was put there previously by the adversary?
  24. Handicap Singles. In a half bisque turn Red enters its hoop in order from the playing side and is left half way through. Can the striker
    1. take a bisque and complete the running?
    2. complete the running in a subsequent turn?
  25. Handicap Singles. In half bisque turn Red peels Blue through its hoop in order. Is the point scored?
  26. You are called to a distant court by W.M. who complains that E.C. committed a fault (a push) approaching a hoop. E.C. does not agree. There are no spectators.
    1. What are your powers?
    2. W.M asks for a Referee in Charge. How do you respond?
  27. With three other Referees you are sitting near the outplayer watching an A-class player. A blatant double tap is heard by all, but the striker continues his turn. What action is open to
    1. the adversary and
    2. the Referees?
  28. Timed game (handicap singles). Time is called during S.S's turn. She runs rover with Red, pegs out and removes Red from the court. The remaining clips are as follows. Yellow: penult; Blue: 4-back; Black: peg.  L.D. takes her last shot and misses. They clear the court, and as they walk away an interested spectator remarks that after Red hit the peg it came to rest close to Blue, and if it had not been removed Blue could have gone out in the last turn. You are called as a referee; what is your decision?
  29. Blue shoots at Red which is within the jaws of a hoop. The shot misses but in hitting the wire Blue causes red to shake.
    1. Is Blue now responsible for Red's position?
    2. Should a Referee volunteer this information to either or both players?
  30. Red, Yellow and Black have all made breaks. Blue attempts hoop 1 and sticks in this hoop an inch off the ground. You are called in as a referee.
    1. Under which Law can you make a decision?
    2. What is your decision?
    3. Can the striker or the adversary appeal against your decision?
    4. What is the limit of claims?
  31. Advanced Play Singles. Black and Blue are entitled to a lift under Law 36. X lifts Blue and replaces it. He then trundles Black to A baulk and plays it. Is this permissible, and if not, has the adversary any redress?
  32. J.W. runs a hoop by 2 inches. She is about to make an easy roquet on a ball two feet away when the adversary calls out 'I'd like that shot watched'. J.W. says 'It's not necessary', plays the shot and continues with her turn. She lays up after making two more hoops and the adversary then calls a referee and asks whether she has any redress. What would be your ruling?

    If the adversary, at this juncture, claims that J.W. had committed a fault in making the roquet, would you have the power to award it?
  33. In the Spencer Ell R.G. played Black instead of Yellow in the third turn. In the fourth turn P.H. plays Yellow, hits in, and establishes a break. As he runs 2-back R.G. realises that P.H. is playing the wrong ball (Yellow). You are called in as a referee. What happens if
    1. you ascertain the facts as described;
    2. nobody can remember when Yellow was first played in error?
  34. Black runs hoop 4 and then lays up by hoop 6 with Blue, which is for that hoop. Red is left near hoop 5 and Yellow, which is for hoop 5, is left near corner 3. The striker fails to put the Black clip on hoop 5 and walks off with the clip in his pocket. Yellow shoots at Blue and misses. Black then roquets Blue, takes off to Red, roquets Red and approaches hoop 5. The adversary then intervenes. Has he any redress?
  35.  P.N. calls a referee to watch a hammer stroke on Red. The referee pronounces the stroke fair, but both P.N. and the adversary notice that Red brushed against P.N's foot after making its roquet.
    1. Should P.N. inform the referee?
    2. Should the adversary inform the referee?
  36. Yellow is in corner 1. Blue rushes Red into the corner, and after replacing Red plays a little croquet stroke so as to leave himself a rush on Yellow to hoop 6. He then 'rushes' Red rather than Yellow. The adversary forestalls and you are called as a referee. Both players agree the facts as described. What is your ruling?
    1. (i) A referee called to watch an Irish Peel notices that the balls are not touching. Should he tell the striker?
    2. (ii) The adversary notices that the striker is about to play a thin take off with the balls not touching. Should he tell the striker?
  37. In an Irish Peel Red and Yellow both run rover. The balls ricochet against each other several times after running the hoop. Is a roquet made?
  38. Advanced Play. In the third turn Red hits in and goes to the peg. What options are open to Black in the fourth turn?
  39. Handicap Play. Third hoop start. After running hoop 4 Blue 'runs' hoop 1. He then takes two bisques, using them to 'make' hoop 2 and penult (which he thinks is hoop 5). Red shoots and misses. Blue starts playing again and the error is noticed. What happens to the balls, the clips, and the two bisques taken in the previous turn?

Acknowledgement: The above questions were devised by Mrs. E.A.M. Prichard

Note. Answers are NOT available for these questions

Author: E.A.M. Prichard
All rights reserved © 2004


Updated 28.i.16
About, Feedback
www.oxfordcroquet.com/ref/questions/index.asp
on www.oxfordcroquet.com
Hits: 10377